The Battle vs. The War

17 Jan

My eating disorder is a lot like the infamous dictator, Adolf Hitler. He was abusive, ruthless, cunning, evil… just like my anorexia. The former German commander was powerful and persuasive; he promised a way out the Germans’ reality at the time… just like my anorexia promises me comfort, relief, and an escape from my life. But they both lied… Just like Hitler, my eating disorder rules with one thing, that when taken away, renders it powerless. It is FEAR…

Like the Allies, I have lost many a battle to the dictator in my life. But at the end of perhaps the most difficult war in history, the Allies, the “good-guys” claimed victory. Like they say… “Lose the battle, but win the war.” There is a difference between struggling and allowing my eating disorder to take over. While I may lose some battles, I haven’t lost hope. I will win this…

I AM STRONGER THAN MY EATING DISORDER.

2 Responses to “The Battle vs. The War”

  1. avoirducourage January 17, 2011 at 10:17 PM #

    Hey! I found your blog and I read through it. This post really struck me. You put it so well. Literally, you put into words what I’ve been thinking for years. You are stronger than your ED! Thanks for this inspirational post 🙂

  2. Courage January 17, 2011 at 11:12 PM #

    “Our doubts are traitors, and make us lose the good we often might win, by fearing to attempt.”
    William Shakespeare

    “When you love your body, you are most able to share its pleasures with those who light your heart.”
    * Huitaco

    Here are a couple of quotes that I hope will inspire you and make you smile.

    I believe in you…meow
    -me

Leave a Reply

