An Eggcellent Recovery Step

16 Jun

For many months, I have been conflicted about returning to a vegetarian, in place of vegan, diet. My nutritionist, Susan, as well as the physician I work with were stressing the importance of adequate, high-quality protein. But my morals stood in the way. I have done lots of research about how animals are raised in modern times and could not stomach the idea of supporting an industry that caused suffering, even for my own gain. I believed eliminating all animal products was the only way- that being a vegan was the only path to ensure my life did not come at a price of pain to others’.

But I have found a solution that works for me. I recently discovered Green Valley Organic Yogurts, Siggi’s Icelandic skyre, and Vital Farms eggs. In the future, I will do posts on the two dairy products, but today I want to focus on the eggs.

Growing up, I never truly liked the flavor or texture of eggs. Coupled with my stance against the horrors of conventional poultry/egg raising, they weren’t easily missed. But after some(ok, extensive…) research and a little dance into the kitchen, here’s what I’ve been missing:

Nutrition from Eggs!

  • An amino acid score of 136(over 100 is considered a high-quality protein)
  • Choline- helps maintain the structure of brain cell membranes and a key-player in the neuro-transmitter that relays messages between the brain and muscles
  • Lutein and zeaxanthin(antioxidants) help prevent macular degeneration(though I’m not too worried about this yet

Vital Farms Eggs:

These are the eggs I have chosen to buy because they are pastured raised, a revolutionary and radically different way to raise hens. The hens are are allowed to graze, almost like cows, all day long on wild grasses, bugs, etc in place of conventional battery cages and grain feed. In contrast with conventional egg farms, Vital Farms hens have a portable hen house in the pasture for shelter, but most of the day they spend outdoors with plenty of space and sunshine. Because they have more space and superior nutrition, they produce fantastic tasting eggs. Let me tell you, the egg I had this morning tasted NOTHING like any egg I’ve had before. The yolks were a deep yellow and the whites were more clear than white. In place of a flat, gummy and dry egg, I was shocked by its dimensional layers of flavor- rich, almost creamy, with a slight garlic tang after cooked. YUM! In addition to the palate pleasures, according to vitalfarms.com, pasture raising has the following benefits(versus conventional eggs):

  • 1⁄3 less cholesterol
  • 1⁄4 less saturated fat
  • 2⁄3 more Vitamin A
  • 2 times more omega-3 fatty acids
  • 3 times more Vitamin E
  • 7 times more beta carotene
Wow! Take a look at the beginnings of my breakfast!
And here is the MOST delicious thing I’ve eaten all week:

French Toast ala Erin:

~made with soymilk, Vital Farms eggs, and cranberry-pumpkin seed multigrain~

~served with a mix of fresh, summer berries and a drizzle of maple syrup~

Breakfast Bliss… ahh!

Leave a Reply

