To Smile through the Struggle

12 Sep

Over the past few days, I’ve really struggled with my eating disorder. I’m at a pivotal point, where I am grappling with the desire to be healthy from my genuine self and the desire the eating disorder has for me to pursue thinness above anything else. Clothes need to be replaced and a new, more feminine shape needs adjusting to.

But I am trying to stay positive. There have been many “down” days this week, but tonight, this made me smile through the tears. That is going to be my goal for the next few days… that despite the inner turmoil I am experiencing on my recovery path,

 I’m still going to smile through the struggle.

In the hardest of times, we all need something to go “aww” at.

4 Responses to “To Smile through the Struggle”

  1. servetheworld September 12, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

    I think you may have read my mind this week. Thank you for the video, that was absolutely precious…. keep loving those curves, people will start to notice 🙂 (in a good way) ha!

    • eodwyer September 13, 2011 at 8:09 AM #

      Thanks, Chloe! I appreciate your support and wishing you smiles this week!

  2. Melissa September 12, 2011 at 11:27 PM #

    Hi Erin! Just wanted to thank you for sharing your recovery experiences, struggles, and triumphs. Your optimism and positive outlook are contagious, and reading about the specific steps you’ve taken has helped me put some of my recovery tools into action and has reminded me of how grateful I am to be on the recovery path.

    I love the idea of smiling through the struggle. Also going to do it this week. Here’s wishing you a week full of both expected and unexpected joys! Keep smiling, it’s inspiring!

    • eodwyer September 13, 2011 at 8:11 AM #

      Hi Melissa,
      Thanks for the kind words and I’m so glad you find my writing helpful in your recovery. I am grateful to have such a supportive reader as this illness has always been so isolating. Your comment brought another smile to my face, so I’m already on my way to meeting my recovery goal for this week. Thanks for the smile!

Leave a Reply

